Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RFuen1
Beginner

Certs for internal server

I’m setting up a new IntelUnite server version 4 on Server 2019. The server will be used internally only (unite.ccc.local).  One of the server requirements is to obtain a SHA-2 certificate. I have 3 options:

1)     Self-signed Cert

2)     Purchase 3rd Party Certificate

3)     Internally created certificate (internal CA)

Since this server can only be accessed on the local network only (not domain.com), I think #2 is not an option. I went with #1 and set up a self-signed cert. This works fine for Windows clients as long as I manually install the cert. The problem is that chromebooks don’t support self-signed certs. Do you have any suggestions to get #2 or #3 working? I have zero experience with certs, so any advice or direction is appreciated.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Wanner_G_Intel

Hello RFuen1,

Thank you for posting on this Intel Community.

According to the Intel Unite® 4 Deployment Guide 4.4.1 Obtaining a certificate (Pag 27), you can obtain a certificate in the following ways:

1. From a public root of trust certificate authority

2. Create a self-signed Web Server Certificate.

For this reason, we cannot confirm if an internally created certificate is going to work on your setup.

Now, we did some research to find some information about using self-signed certificates on Chrome* OS, but we recommend you to contact the Developers or your Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) to confirm whether it is an option to use self-signed certificates on this environment.

Wanner G.

Intel Customer Support Technician

A Contingent Worker at Intel

Wanner_G_Intel

Hello RFuen1,

As soon as we have more information about obtaining a certificate for your environment, we will update this thread.

Wanner G.

Intel Customer Support Technician

A Contingent Worker at Intel

ZSott
Beginner