Intel® oneAPI Base Toolkit
Support for the core tools and libraries within the base toolkit that are used to build and deploy high-performance data-centric applications.
419 Discussions

Compiled MKL example code won't run directly in cmd

vajoshi9800
Beginner

I am new to mkl. I am trying to compile an example code for random number generation provided here. I compiled this code by first opening oneAPI command prompt for Intel 64 and then typing following command:

cl /EHsc main.cpp /DMKL_ILP64 -I"C:/Program Files (x86)/Intel/oneAPI/mkl/latest/include" "C:/Program Files (x86)/Intel/oneAPI/mkl/latest/lib/intel64/mkl_intel_ilp64.lib" "C:/Program Files (x86)/Intel/oneAPI/mkl/latest/lib/intel64/mkl_intel_thread.lib" "C:/Program Files (x86)/Intel/oneAPI/mkl/latest/lib/intel64/mkl_core.lib" "C:/Program Files (x86)/Intel/oneAPI/compiler/latest/windows/compiler/lib/intel64_win/libiomp5md.lib

The code compiled fine and ran fine when executed inside oneAPI command prompt for Intel 64. However, it did not run when I executed the code from cmd or powershell. Assuming that this is normal behavior, My question is how can I compile this code so that oneAPI command prompt doen't need to be executed before running the executable?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
AbhishekD_Intel

Hi Vatsal,

The .dll which you are referring to is not in the MKL directory. You will get the libiomp5md.dll inside \Intel\oneAPI\compiler\latest\windows\redist\intel64_win\compiler directory.

And moving forward there could be the requirement of more such dependent .dll for your MKL project, which may not be in the same MKL directory. So in such cases, setvars will help to enable the proper environment depending on your executable.

Hope this will help you to resolve your issue.

Warm Regards,

Abhishek

View solution in original post

4 Replies
AbhishekD_Intel

Hi Vatsal,

Thanks for reaching out to us.