Intel® oneAPI Base Toolkit
Support for the core tools and libraries within the base toolkit that are used to build and deploy high-performance data-centric applications.

DPC++ setup question

Kirk
Beginner

Apololgies for a total newbie question. I never tried GPU programming before.

I have Intel OneAPI version 2021.3.0 for Windows, the Intel oneAPI Programming Guide and on a suggestion there I have the book Data Parallel C++ (many authors, Apress). I'm stuck on the hello world program from the book.

I'm working on the command line, not in Visual Studio. I believe I need an argument to the setvars.bat file that I can't figure out. Normally I can run the C++ compiler without problem (icl command). I only have trouble with icx. When I use that the compile will fail because it's missing CL/sycl.hpp. If I manually add the folder ...\latest\windows\include\sysl to the INCLUDE path, then I can compile but not link. If I specifically add sycl.lib to the link command then I can link but with a warning "multiple '__CLANG_OFFLOAD_BUNDLE__openmp-s' sections". If I run the resulting binary anyway an exception is thrown.

I think I'm causing the problem by trying to modify the environment myself. There must be some parameter I need to setvars to set this stuff up properly for me, but I haven't found it.

Many thanks for your patience!

0 Kudos
1 Solution
ShivaniK_Intel

Hi,

Thanks for reaching out to us.

Below are the steps for initializing one API environment in Command Prompt:

Method 1:

Step 1: Open Windows Command Prompt 

Step 2 : cd <install-dir> the Intel one API installation directory (by default, C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI).

Step 3: Launch setvars.bat which will initialize the complete one API Environment.

ShivaniK_Intel_0-1632745581221.png

Method 2:

Open "Intel one API command prompt for Intel 64 for Visual Studio 2019" from the Windows Search Bar.

ShivaniK_Intel_2-1632745865928.png