Intel® oneAPI Data Parallel C++
Support for Intel® oneAPI DPC++ Compiler, Intel® oneAPI DPC++ Library, Intel ICX Compiler , Intel® DPC++ Compatibility Tool, and GDB*
560 Discussions

How can I debug kernel code of DPC++ with ESIMD extension

tanzl_ustc
Beginner

Hello, I'm a senior student. I'm studying DPC++ recently.

I found some problems in debugging the kernel code of DPC++ with ESIMD extension.

As  shown in the following image, the guide book told me to use "stream" to debug.

tanzl_ustc_0-1642474771469.png

However, this method will fail on DPC + + code with esimd extension.

tanzl_ustc_1-1642475100649.png

As shown in the figure above, when I add the stream method in lines 49 and 52 of the kernel code, the official sample code that can be compiled normally will report errors in compilation (the compilation command I use is: clang + + - fsycl vadd_usm.cpp - O vaddout). When I remove the "sycl_esimd_kernel" in line 51, the compilation can pass normally, but I can't continue to use esimd extension.

If "sycl_esimd_kernel" and all code related to ESIMD extension are removed from the code, the stream method can be used normally

I also tried to debug kernel code with std:: cout and GDB, but they all failed.

Could you tell me an effective method to debug kernel code and track the value of internal variables? Thank you!

0 Kudos
11 Replies
HemanthCH_Intel

Hi,

Thanks for reaching out to us.

There are some restrictions that apply when using the ESIMD extension. For more information please refer to the below link:

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/develop/documentation/oneapi-dpcpp-cpp-compiler-dev-guide-and-reference/top/optimization-and-programming-guide/vectorization/explicit-vector-programming/explicit-simd-sycl-extension.html

Could you please let us know the OS version, IDE version(Visual Studio/Eclipse), and OneAPI toolkit version you are using?

Thanks & Regards,

Hemanth.

0 Kudos
tanzl_ustc
Beginner

Hi,