Intel® MPI Library
Get help with building, analyzing, optimizing, and scaling high-performance computing (HPC) applications.
2161 Discussions

Intel MPI debugging and profiling tools?

j0e
New Contributor I
Hi All,

I'm just getting started debugging and profiling MPI fortran code using the latest Intel Cluster Studio. For development, I largely use VS2010 and run under Windows on a single node (w/ 8 cpus) (production runs are on a linux cluster).

For basic debugging, I start an MPI run as usual, then just attach the debugger to all the processes via VS. Seems to work fine (at least at the basic level I'm running).

I've used the Intel Trace Collector/Analyzer, after compiling with /Qtcollect and running itcpin via mpiexec, such as: mpiexec -n 4 itcpin --insert VT --run -- myprogram.exe arguments This also seems to work as expected.

My only question, is this pretty much it?, or are there other Intel MPI tools that are useful that I'm not aware of?

Thanks for your help!
-joe
0 Kudos
2 Replies
Dmitry_K_Intel2
Employee
Hi Joe,

I hope that you know about Message Checker. You just need to use 'VTmc' library instead of 'VT' for '--insert' opiton.

Also you can get Light-weght statistics be setting I_MPI_STATS=N (where N from 0 to 10) - you'll get text files with statistical information.
Debug information from the MPI library may be helpful sometimes - you just need to set I_MPI_DEBUG environment variable.

If you have Cluster Studio XE you can benefit from using of VTune Amplifier XE and Inspector XE applications.

BTW: if you compile your program with /Qtcollect you should not use itcpin - VT library has already been linked to the program. Just try to run 'mpiexec -n 4myprogram.exe'

Regards!
Dmitry

0 Kudos
j0e
New Contributor I