Intel® MPI Library
Get help with building, analyzing, optimizing, and scaling high-performance computing (HPC) applications.

Intel Network Latency

mariov652
Beginner
Hello,

This is my first post to the group.

I am not really a software developer, more a learning Network Architect recently working in a HPC-type field. I have become very interested in this field recently and hope to give back to the community as I learn more myself.

I hope someone will be able to provide more info or link to some sites regarding my questions. If you don't have any answers, maybe some suggestions on how I could find the answer out myself...

We have found the Intel network adaptors to be one of the best with regards to low latency / high throughput. We are looking to optimize settings to provide consistantly best response times / lowest network card latency and have run some tests with two systems connected via a cross-over cable between them.

One question which we don't have an answer for yet is:
We notice a difference (allbeit small) in response times between pings when we send many pings at once as opposed to sending, say one ping every one or two seconds. For example, for 64-byte packets the response time differences between pinging every second ranges from ~63us to ~76us; however when we send pings every 100us, the response time differences between pings ranges from ~61s to ~65us.

Is it possible to minimise this 'jitter' or difference between response times between each ping? In other words is it possible to consistantly achieve a 'lowest' response time?

Any guidance is appreciated.

Thanks,
Mario
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Andres_M_Intel4
Employee
Mario,

There are several things you can do to improve the Ethernet latency, for instance the customization of driver options and the removal of general purpose services which usually add overhead to packet processing without providing benefits on an HPC environment.