Intel® MPI Library
Get help with building, analyzing, optimizing, and scaling high-performance computing (HPC) applications.
2159 Discussions

Need help making sense of NBC performance (MPI3)

Ariel_B_1
Beginner

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to parallel computing, but am working on a certain legacy code that uses real-space domain decomposition for electronic structure calculations. I have spent a while modernizing the main computational kernel to hybrid MPI+openMP and upgraded the communication pattern to use nonblocking neighborhood alltoallv for the halo exchange and a nonblocking allreduce for the other communication in the kernel. I have now started to focus on "communication hiding", so that the calculations and communication happen alongside each other.

EDIT: It is probably useful to note that the timescale and the message sizes are unrepresentative of actual applications, the issue is not as crucial for large message sizes and long computation time (for the communication hiding).  I still want to understand the behavior better...

For this purpose I tried both progressing the communication manually using mpi_test and mpi_testall, but was more successful in using the "spare core" technique and running each processing element (PE) with one less thread while setting MPICH_ASYNC_PROGRESS=1. However, I am probably too "green" to understand the outcome.

For the description of my results, I refer you to the following output from the intel trace collector. I am using the ITAC api to do low overhead instrumentation of the different phases of the kernel. Important details: I am using intel mpi 5.0.2, each node has 2x6 cores and each PE is pinned to its own socket.
The first screenshot is for running a toy problem on 4 nodes, 2 PE each, with 5 threads each, without async progression (more details after the pic):

MPICH_ASYNC_PROGRESS=0