Intel® MPI Library
Get help with building, analyzing, optimizing, and scaling high-performance computing (HPC) applications.
2154 Discussions

Trying to make MPI work in a QuickWin application

Anders_S_1
New Contributor III

Hi,

This is my first try to enter MPI into a simple QuickWin program under Visual Studio 2010

I first installed Cluster Studio 2015 update 4 on my i7 4910MQ Dell laptop as an x64 project. The simple code compiled, linked and run directly.

Then I just added INCLUDE *mpif.h' on a new line after the IMPLICIT NONE line and got the compiler message error #5102 cannot open include file

'mpif.h'.

I then tried a number of ways to inform the compiler about the location of the mpif.h file but instead got a number of warnings and errors. 

I have scanned a number of install documents and videos but I found no solution.

So, how do I solve this?

Best regards

Anders S

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Gergana_S_Intel
Employee

Hey Anders,

Thanks for the update.  I'm glad you have it working but I might suggest a shorter solution.  Start with step #1 and #2 above (by running mpivars.bat).  This should setup your environment so that the operating system can find all necessary include and link paths.

Which compile command are you using?  If, for example, you're doing 'ifort', simply replace that by 'mpiifort' on your command line.  That will potentially replace your steps 3 to 6.  The mpiifort command is a wrapper around ifort that does things like "add <install_path>\include" to the x64 compiler includes directory list".  Your new list will look like this:

1. Install Cluster Studio XE 2015 Update 4
  2. Go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\MPI\5.0.3.048\intel64\bin and run mpivars.bat
  3. Run "mpiifort test.c -o test"

After these steps, you should have an executable called 'test' which would be an MPI code.

Let me know if this helps.

~Gergana

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Gergana_S_Intel
Employee

Hi Anders,