Intel® MPI Library
Get help with building, analyzing, optimizing, and scaling high-performance computing (HPC) applications.
2159 Discussions

does mpi intel debugger manual exist?

toastnmaker
Beginner

Hello again,

I am new in the HPC field, ready to learn a lot. Please,don't you know aboutsome MPI debugger tool manual/tutorialsomewhere available? How do you debugyour parallelcodes? I have not found any cookbook about it.Does Visual Studio 2003include support foranything else than aclassical single machine debugging based on dbx? Whatin the case ofIntel debugger? I can't see how to run it on the nodes during the debugging proces. (Nowadays I've just startedusing Windows platform, Intel Cluster Toolkit 3.1 for Windows, Visual Studio 2005 for Windows and Windows Compute Cluster Server 2003)

Martin

0 Kudos
6 Replies
toastnmaker
Beginner
btw: please what is the difference between mpiexec and mpirun ?
0 Kudos
grigoryzagorodnev

Hi Martin,

Visual Studio 2005 supports parallel debugging. Please check this document for general information http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=55932

> How do you debug your parallel codes?

Personally, I prefer tracing :)

- Grigory

0 Kudos
grigoryzagorodnev

Martin,

> please what is the difference between mpiexec and mpirun ?

On Linux, mpirun performs three actions in a row: mpdboot, mpiexec and mpdallexit. First action activates, last action terminates MPI process management daemons on each cluster node, required to spawn processes.

On Windows, process management daemon persists as system service and requires no special activation. Therefore, if supplied,mpirun would perfrm single action 'mpiexec'. Intel MPI 3.1 for Windows provides only mpiexec as there is no need in mpirun.

- Grigory

0 Kudos
toastnmaker
Beginner

Thanks a lot, that link helped. There is still some configuration problem,beacuse some files are not found where they are expected, but will work...