Intel® MPI Library
Get help with building, analyzing, optimizing, and scaling high-performance computing (HPC) applications.
2159 Discussions

execvp error (Parallel running between 2 nodes)

milad_m_
Beginner

Hi 

I'm trying to run a simple parallel code between 2 nodes (VS 2013 and intel cluster 2017). I have successfully run in parallel between inner cores in the node 0. I create host.txt file then copy the main folder in to the node1 desktop. Both folders in each node are shared.But when i run it between 2 nodes this error appear. The cmd code that i use is:

mpiexec -n 2 -ppn 1 -f host.txt c.exe

which one process runs in node 0 and another is in node1.

I attached host file and error figure.Thanks.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Gregg_S_Intel
Employee

Try specifying a full path to c.exe.

0 Kudos
milad_m_
Beginner
I'm new with this. Would you please help me how can i add full patch in addition to host IP to the host.txt file ? I also add c.exe in both pc to the environment variable. The problem still persist.
0 Kudos
Gregg_S_Intel
Employee

Full path as in c:\something\something\something\c.exe

0 Kudos
milad_m_
Beginner

Tanks but it doesn't work.I add full path after IP address for each node in the host file. i attached error and host file. is it the right format for specifying a full path?

P.S: both nodes have a same username and password and the folders containing exe file and main code are in the same path in both nodes.

0 Kudos
Gregg_S_Intel
Employee

No,you still haven't specified the path to c.exe in your run command, and you've added some bad syntax to your host file.

Have a look at this getting started guide:  https://software.intel.com/en-us/get-started-with-mpi-for-windows

0 Kudos
milad_m_
Beginner