Intel® MPI Library
Get help with building, analyzing, optimizing, and scaling high-performance computing (HPC) applications.

pmi_proxy: Command not found

Mohab_Mahfouz
Beginner

Hello I am very new to this, I installed the MPI fortran and it was working properly but all of a sudden, i am now getting the following errors. can anyone please help

thank you

: mpirun -np 30 ./a.out

/product/Fortran_MPI/intel64/bin/pmi_proxy: Command not found.

Ctrl-C caught... cleaning up processes

[press Ctrl-C again to force abort]

[mpiexec@l1aebshpc1.bank-banque-canada.ca] HYDT_bscu_wait_for_completion (./tools/bootstrap/utils/bscu_wait.c:101): one of the processes terminated badly; aborting

[mpiexec@l1aebshpc1.bank-banque-canada.ca] HYDT_bsci_wait_for_completion (./tools/bootstrap/src/bsci_wait.c:18): bootstrap device returned error waiting for completion

[mpiexec@l1aebshpc1.bank-banque-canada.ca] HYD_pmci_wait_for_completion (./pm/pmiserv/pmiserv_pmci.c:521): bootstrap server returned error waiting for completion

[mpiexec@l1aebshpc1.bank-banque-canada.ca] main (./ui/mpich/mpiexec.c:548): process manager error waiting for completion

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee
I moved your thread to the clustering technology forum as it is not an Intel Fortran issue - this error comes from MPICH.
0 Kudos
James_T_Intel
Hi Mohab,

What is the value of the environment variable I_MPI_ROOT? Did you source the appropriate mpivars script (usually in /opt/intel/impi//intel64/bin/mpivars.sh)?

Sincerely,
James Tullos
Technical Consulting Engineer
Intel Cluster Tools
0 Kudos
Mohab_Mahfouz
Beginner

This is the values of the I_MPI_ROOT in my /product/Fortran_MPI/intel64/bin/mpivars.csh

setenv I_MPI_ROOT /product/Fortran_MPI

setenv PATH $I_MPI_ROOT/intel64/bin

setenv PATH $I_MPI_ROOT/intel64/bin:$PATH

setenv LD_LIBRARY_PATH $I_MPI_ROOT/intel64/lib

setenv LD_LIBRARY_PATH $I_MPI_ROOT/intel64/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

setenv MANPATH $I_MPI_ROOT/man:`manpath`