Intel® MPI Library
Get help with building, analyzing, optimizing, and scaling high-performance computing (HPC) applications.

starter's question

mmquan
Beginner
I am new to HPC, and if I want to know more about HPC, what kinds of book should I read? or what kinds of knowledge should I have?
And what is the relationship between HPC and parallel computing?
thanks

quan
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Henry_G_Intel
Employee
Hi Quan,
Here are a couple of book recommendations for HPC:
High Performance Computing (2nd edition), Kevin Dowd and Charles Severance, O'Reilly and Associates, 1998. This book is a good place to start learning about HPC. It covers both serial optimization and parallel computing.
Beowulf Cluster Computing with Linux, Thomas Sterling (editor), The MIT Press, 2002.
ClusterWorld is a pretty good magazine for HPC, though as the title suggests, it cover clusters. You should also check-out Forrest Hoffman's Extreme Linux column in Linux Magazine. His column has been going for some time now and many of the articles are now available on-line.
What's the relationship between HPC and parallel computing? Parallel computing is a subset of HPC. The biggest problems are being solved today on parallel computers, so more and more, HPC andparallel computing are becoming synonymous.
I hope this helps.
Henry
0 Kudos
ClayB
New Contributor I
Quan -
Henry has some good suggestions. I would add "Software Optimization for High Performance Computing" (Prentice Hall PTR) by Wadleigh and Crawford as a second or third book. It deals with many different HPC topics (Hardware, Software, Applications) with a focus toward writing and running code. Quite a few optimization techniques that would benefit even serial codes, plus some introduction to parallel programming methods are included. (Beware that I've found three errors in the text, though.)