Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

How to find inverse of a sparse matrix using pardiso?

Chandramohan_V
Beginner

I have a sparse matrix of A 17000 x 17000 (real data). Need to find the inverse of A, I am new to intel math library.

Anyone could help me to solve this problem by using pardiso?, pardiso has take 16 variables but I have only a single matrix and if use pardiso where will get the corresponding result?

My system configuration are as follows,

Architecture : x86_64

CPUs : 12

Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3960x CPU @ 3.30Ghz

RAM : 16 Gb

ISS: Intel system studio 2019.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Spencer_P_Intel
Employee

Hi,

I can't help but wonder why it is you are wanting the inverse of the sparse matrix?  This is a very ill conditioned problem. If it truly is needed, the best way to do it is by assembling each column or set of columns by solving Ax = e_i   where e_i is the elemental vector with zeros everywhere but a 1 at the ith spot.  You can do this in batches of rhs, but it may be required to use a number of passes to get them all.  Direct sparse solvers like pardiso try to create a Cholesky (L L^T)  or LU factorization of the matrix A which can then be used to solve any system. (Note: so do direct dense solvers like in LAPACK)   (Note: of course to maintain stability there are a lot of scaling and permutation matices involved in the final solution so that it could look more like PAP^T = LDL^T  for Cholesky or many other variants of LU for symmetric, non symmetric, structurally symmetric matrices ... See https://software.intel.com/en-us/mkl-developer-reference-c-intel-mkl-pardiso-parallel-direct-sparse-solver-interface  for some details and references for more details...  These are all used in the solve step to produce the final solution of your system...)