Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.
6975 Discussions

simple example: calling MKL prevents program exit

olegsd
Beginner
Hi

The attached example program hangs after it finishes (0% CPU usage), but doesn't quit back to shell.

The critical part is that a call to "cblas_sgemm" is followed by a call to "system".

I'm new to using MKL, so perhaps I'm not linking correctly, or making some other stupid mistake.

I'm using GCC (Ubuntu/Linaro 4.5.2-8ubuntu4) 4.5.2 to compile and link this as follows:

gcc -static -I/home/t/local/intel_mkl/mkl/include -o mkl_hangs mkl_hangs.c -L/home/t/local/intel_mkl/composerxe-2011.4.191/mkl/lib/intel64 -L/home/t/local/intel_mkl/lib/intel64 -lmkl_intel_lp64 -Wl,--start-group -lmkl_intel_thread -lmkl_core -Wl,--end-group -liomp5 -fopenmp

(This is on Ubuntu 11.04, AMD64, and /home/t/local/intel_mkl is where I installed MKL)

Please let me know if you can or cannot reproduce this behavior, and thanks in advance for any suggestions!
0 Kudos
7 Replies
mecej4
Honored Contributor III
The program ran fine on a Linux system (not Ubuntu). One check that you may easily do is to make sure that the target of the system call (/bin/ls) exists on your $PATH and is executable. You may try replacing "/bin/ls" by just "ls" in the system call.

[bash]
[mecej4@login2 LANG]$ . /opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/072/bin/iccvars.sh  ia64
[mecej4@login2 LANG]$ icc -mkl hang.c
[mecej4@login2 LANG]$ ./a.out
F51          cmplx.cxx     hang.c                        perfs.f90  test.bin
MP           correct       hashtbl.f90                   pptr.f90   tsc.f90
Makefile     d2.F          hola.f90                      prob.f90   tst.f90
Pemb         dpotrx.c      hola.tgz                      psx.f90    vfe.f90
a.out        dstx.c        ibug.f90                      pth.f90    wang.f90
allo.f90     dstxda.c      kr.f90                        rci.F      zb.c