Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Alignment??

michaelnikelsky
Beginner
Hi,

Im still pretty new to threading building blocks and immediately ran into problems. I want to use parallel_reduce to find some minimal and maximal values for some triangles. However, I am using SSE, so it is necessary to align my data. So my first try for the cals:

_MM_ALIGN16 class ScanTriangles
{
public:
_m128 m_countLeft[INITIALCANDIDATES ];

void operator(const tbb::blocked_range< unsigned int>& range)
{
}
void join( const ScanTriangles& other)
{

for( unsigned int i = 0; i < numCandidates; ++i)
{
m_countLeft = _mm_add_ps( m_countLeft, other.m_countLeft);
}
}

However, this crashes in the join function since other is not 16 Byte aligned.

So my second try was to derive from a aligned base class:

class AlignedBaseClass
{
public:
FINLINE void* operator new( std::size_t size) throw( std::bad_alloc)
{
if( void* ptr = aligned_malloc( size, 16))
return ptr;
throw std::bad_alloc();
}

FINLINE void* operator new[]( std::size_t size) throw( std::bad_alloc)
{
return operator new(size);
}

FINLINE void* operator new( std::size_t size, const std::nothrow_t&) throw()
{
return aligned_malloc( size, 16);
}

FINLINE void* operator new[]( std::size_t size, const std::nothrow_t&) throw()
{
return operator new(size, std::nothrow);
}

FINLINE void operator delete( void* ptr) throw ()
{
if( ptr != 0)
aligned_free( ptr);
}

FINLINE void operator delete[]( void* ptr) throw()
{
operator delete( ptr);
}

FINLINE void operator delete( void* ptr, const std::nothrow_t&) throw()
{
if( ptr != 0)
aligned_free( ptr);
}

FINLINE void operator delete[]( void* ptr, const std::nothrow_t&) throw()
{
operator delete( ptr, std::nothrow);
}*
};

_MM_ALIGN16 class ScanTriangles : : public AlignedBaseClass

But this doesnt even compile anymore but gives this error: