Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Cancelling/Stopping/Killing a Running Task

Karim_N_
New Contributor I

Hi,

I'm a newbie when it comes to utilizing IntelTBB.

I am working on a Windows MFC application that is displaying interactive dashboards so user responsiveness is critical.
The data is complex not so much in terms of calculation (although some is involved) but in terms of the amount of
data that needs to be processed.  Each part of the dashboard can take several minutes to fully complete so information
is sent via boost::signals2 to the GUI level as it becomes available so that the screen can refresh and "appears" fast.

I've managed to update and maintain responsiveness during updates but I'm at a loss how to stop all running tasks
when the user switches to another dashboard view.  The tasks associated with the previous dashboard are still running,
taking up all resources.  The same problem manifests itself when I try and close the application.  It sucks when the
window disappears but the process is still running, taking up significant CPU resources.

I've tried the brute force method of tbb::task::destroy() but run into debug assertions that the victim task has
the incorrect state.  I know that's not elegant but I was grasping at straws.

An example task is below. I'm using std::function() because the original code was serial in nature and potentially
several classes will be involved in completing the task.

class MyTask : public tbb::task
{
public:
   MyTask(std::function<bool(int, int, int, int, int)> fnc, Message msg) : _fnc(fnc), _msg(msg) { }
   ~MyTask() {}

tbb::task* execute()
   {
      _fnc(_msg.A, _msg.B, _msg.C, _msg.D, _msg.E);
      return nullptr;
   }

private:
   std::function<bool(int, int, int, int, int)> _fnc;
   Message _msg;
};