Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.
2465 Discussions

Class providing thread-safe access to a resource that must be acquired in a non-thread safe manner

Oren
Beginner
Hi all,

I've attempted to write here a class that provides a thread-safe way to access a resource that must be acquired in a non-thread safe manner (e.g. through a socket, file or by some legacy code). This is my first attempt at such a thing, so any feedback and comments are appreciated.

Two things pop out: first, I'm making a temporary copy of "Item" in my GetItem() function, which might be a bad idea if it's large -- should GetItem take an Item& argument or will that cause unecessary dereferencing? Second, how does concurrent_queue memory usage scale if I want to allocate, say, ~128MB of buffer space in it*. Would a concurrent_vector be more efficient? I don't need random access, just the ability to pop one "Item" off the top in a thread-safe manner (and it doesn't matter which thread gets which "Item", so long as two threads never get the same one).

* In my application, Update() is quite a bit more efficient if done in large chunks rather than small bits, so putting ~128MB of Items in the concurrent_queue is almost certainly profitable unless that class has huge overhead.

Thanks for reading and commenting!

[cpp]// Include TBB Headers

class Item { ... };

typedef tbb::mutex mutex_t;
typedef mutex_x::scoped_lock lock_t;

class MyClass
{
	public:
		Item GetItem();

private:
		tbb::concurrent_queue q;
		mutex_t mutex;
		void Update(); // NOT THREAD SAFE //
};

Item MyClass::GetItem()
{
	Item i;
	lock_t myLock;
	while (true)
	{
		if ( q.pop_if_present(i) ) {
			return i;
		} 
		else 
		{
			if ( myLock.try_acquire(mutex) )
			{
				Update();
			}
			else {
				Sleep(50);
			}
		}
	}

return Item(); // Should never get here.
}
[/cpp]
0 Kudos
1 Reply
Wooyoung_K_Intel
Employee