Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Dose parallel_for support map iterator?

leemeng
Beginner
Hi all,
I am a newbie. I follow the tutorial and create a small program using parallel_for. I think I have done everything correctly, but the code dose not compile at all:( Can anyone kindly point out what is going wrong?
#include
#include "tbb/parallel_for.h"
#include "tbb/blocked_range.h"
#include "tbb/concurrent_hash_map.h"
typedef tbb::concurrent_hash_map MemberTable;
class IntIterator {
public:
void operator() ( const blocked_range<:ITERATOR>& r ) const {
for ( MemberTable::iterator i = r.begin(); i != r.end(); ++i ) {
printf("Key=%d, Value=%d \\n", i->first, i->second);
}
}
IntIterator() { }
};
int main()
{
MemberTable m;
for(int i=1; i<=10; i++)
m.insert(pair(i, -i));
//if comment out this line, it compiled!
parallel_for(blocked_range<:ITERATOR>(m.begin(), m.end()), IntIterator());
}
0 Kudos
7 Replies
leemeng
Beginner
I think I figure out the answer on my own. According to the source code in
blocked_range.h(http://threadingbuildingblocks.org/files/documentation/a00266.html) and parallel_for.h (http://threadingbuildingblocks.org/files/documentation/a00266.html)
The answer is no. I think this is a nice feature that TBB missing, Would TBB development team add this in the future?
0 Kudos
RafSchietekat
Valued Contributor III
The current situation has the advantage of preventing unprotected concurrent use of printf()...

The URL you give for parallel_for.h is the same as for blocked_range (you could also hide the URL and make the file name a hyperlink), although I don't see how the implementation of parallel_for matters here.