Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.
2465 Discussions

Flow Graph sequencer_node sequence restoring order if message missing

Martin2
Beginner

Hey,

I'm new to Intel TBB and the Flow Graph. I’m sorry if the answer to my problem is obvious. I couldn’t find anything on the internet that could help me.

The Problem is that I have to reorder messages that have been processed in parallel. The sequencer_node works without problems but if a message got missing the buffer will grow and grow. Since the processing I liked to do doesn’t stop and new messages are generated, the buffer grows until the program dies. I’m looking for a way to cancel/restart the graph if the sequence could not be restored (after an amount of messages) with a sequencer_node because of a missing message or at least skip that message and start fresh with the sequence at the next message.

Thank you for the help!

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Aleksei_F_Intel
Employee

Hey Martin,

You can cancel the work in several ways:
1) Call "task_group_context_instance.cancel_group_execution()". Of course, you need to create the graph with explicit task_group_context instance at first. Please see graph and task_group_context reference for more details.
2) Inside the body of some graph node call "self().cancel_group_execution()". The description of the method is here.
3) Throw an exception from inside the body of a node. In this case, the exception will be rethrown at the point of "graph_instance.wait_for_all()", where it needs to be caught. Please read about this here.

Independently on the way the graph is cancelled, it needs to be reset using "graph_instance.reset()" before it can be used again.