Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Flow in the Flow graph

Bouvier__Alexandre

Hello everyone,

I'm really new in TBB Flow Graph and I'm facing an issue in a realtime detection application.

I use several sources (from 8 custom threads that read pixels from cameras) that send the data with a try_put to a broadcast_node. The broadcast send to a function_node for preprocessing (with unlimited concurrency) and the preprocess function send the result to a queue_node.Finally the queue is connected to the detection block which is another function_node. Due to the expensive computation (on the gpu) i need to restrict the number of detectors to 4 ; so I set the maximum concurrency to 4.

These detectors are slow (15 fps) but the final framerate has to be at the same framerate as the cameras. So when a detector is busy, I simply skip the detector's function_node and send the data to another buffer ( the previous queue_node is connected to it). Finally i reorder the frames with a sequencer_node 

In this configuration i get weird behavior when only 4 frames pass through the detector block and the rest are skipped. I decide to change the detector function_node with a couple of limiter_node and multifunction_node (output 0 for the data and ouput 1 for the continue_msg) but got the same result. 

It would be very helpfull if someone could give me some clues. 

Thank you

Alex

0 Kudos
1 Reply
Aleksei_F_Intel
Employee

Hi Alex,