Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

How expensive is tsak creation / scheduling?

christian_convey
Beginner

I'm starting to parallelize a big application, and I'm new to TBB.

I'm trying to figure out how granular my parallelism should be, which involves weighing the costs of creating/scheduling tasks vs. the benefits of their potentially parallel execution.

Are there any guidelines as to how expensive task creation / scheduling is in TBB?

0 Kudos
3 Replies
zweistein
Beginner
Hi,
As a small example. I am calculating Fibonaccis in a loop:
unsigned long fib ( unsigned long i )
{
if ( i < 2 ) return i;
return fib ( i - 1 ) + fib ( i - 2 );
}
for fib(5) you can better loop serial, because task creation is too expensive. for fib(10) you get better results for creating Tasks that get scheduled and each Task calculates fib(10). the longer each task takes, the more benefit you have of course.
That was for task scheduler.
For parallel loops, the documentation says:
"Typically a loop needs to take at least a million clock cycles for parallel_for to
improve its performance. For example, a loop that takes at least 500 microseconds
on a 2 GHz processor might benefit from parallel_for."
But this again depends on the loop body. if you have a large operation in it, parallel_for benefits from lower iterations.
0 Kudos
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III
I do not think there is one consistent right answer to your question. The overhead cost will very depending on

a) which parallel_xxx you use
b) if the task pool (sans your thread) or to the degree of portions thereof is completely idle
c) if the task pool (sans your thread) or to the degree of portions thereof is looking for work
d) if the task pool (sans your thread) or to the degree of portions thereof is working on other tasks
e) if the other threads are in task stealing or directly scheduled tasks