Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Installing tbb in windows

swapnam
Beginner

I am using windows XP. I have Visual studio 2005 installed in my system. I downloadedtbb "Stable Release" from this site and tried to follow the instructions to install it in my system. I did not understand where to place what files. I understood the lib and include folders to be moved to some system folders, I thinkunder "C:Program FilesMicrosoft Visual Studio 8". But I did not understand much. And I found something about GNU. Even that one, I am not able to understand much.

Could anybody help me in installing and using tbb?

I am a VB developer. So, the questions I am asking may be very minor for a c++ developer.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
robert-reed
Valued Contributor II

It's less important WHERE you place the files (the binaries from the Windows distribution file and the include files from the source distribution file), as how you connect them to VS.NET. There are a couple of ways to do that. One is to get the INCLUDE, PATH and LIB paths modified to include the appropriate TBB components before launching VS (either by setting the global environment, or by setting a shell environment before manually launching VS via devenv.exe), or by setting these directories in the appropriate paths with VS (Tools >> Options >> Projects and Solutions >> VC++ Directories).

If you look in the binary distribution, say tbb20_20070927oss_winia32vc8in, you'll find a file, tbbvars.bat, that can be used with some preparation. You'll note this file expects the ia32 (or em64t) and include directories to be in the same place, which is expected to be set in an environmental variable, TBB20_INSTALL_DIR. Set this to the place where you put those folders and you could use this batch file to set the environment in a shell before launching devenv.exe (VS.NET)