Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Multi-Tasking CoSimulation

Hang_Y_
Beginner

Hi there,

I am pretty new to TBB or any threading libraries, so forgive me if my question might seem quite naive to you guys. I am currently developing a model based co-simulation platform. Basically, I want to run all of the models concurrently in order to minimize run time.

Here's my idea,

1) I wrap each model with my own C++ API, and then export them as dynamic linked libraries. e.g. M1.dll, M2.dll. Each dll has the same set of API functions. e.g. Initialize(), DoStep(), Terminate() etc.

2) I then load these dlls into my CoSim platform during run time.

3) I push each model object into a vector collection, e.g. std::vector<Model> models = {M1, M2};

4) When I run a simulation with several models, the platform will call several functions, e.g. M1.DoStep(), M2.DoStep() at a very high frequency(1000 times per second).

Here're my questions,

1) Is it worthwhile to call those DoStep() functions concurrently if the size of vector<Model> is pretty small (less than 10)? Keep in mind that these do step functions are called at every millisecond. 

2) If it's worth it, then should I use parallel_for? parallel_invoke? parallel_for_each? From the manual, it seems that I should used parallel_invoke, but this method seems that I need to know the size of the methods in advance. This vector<Model> is of course dynamic, so I guess should I use parallel_for or creating my own tasks? 

3) Currently, I could not think of a way to handle load balance due to how people develop their models, e.g. M1 might be quite math heavy, but M2 might just be a simple light weight calculation. Is there a way to handle this condition? 

Thanks ahead for your answers, any comments on this topic are welcomed as well.