Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.
2464 Discussions

New to Intel Tbb - Question regarding performance.

dreamthtr
Beginner
Hi I'm new to Intel TBB and am trying to get more performance out of my app.

My applications runs a simulation of gravity between particles of different mass in a 2d field, anyway the simplest way to calculate this is to take each particle and calculate the forces that are exterted in every one of the other particles.

Any way i have a cicle that used to look like this:

[cpp]for(int i = 0; i	for(int j=0; j	{
if(oM != oM){
oM->calculaPhys(oM);
veces++;
}
}
}[/cpp]

I modified that code to use a parallel_for like this:

[cpp]class ApplyPhys {
objectMass *const my_Obj;
public:
ApplyPhys( objectMass obj[]): my_Obj(obj){}
void operator()( const blocked_range& r ) const{
objectMass *obj = my_Obj;
for( size_t i = r.begin(); i != r.end(); i++){
funcTest(&obj);
}
}

};

void funcTest(objectMass * obj){
for (int i=0; i if(obj != oM){
if(obj->mass != 0){
veces++;
obj->calculaPhys(oM);
}
if( abs(obj->x - oM->x) < 0.5 && abs(obj->y - oM->y) < 0.5){
obj->mass += oM->mass;
oM->mass =0;
}
}
}
}[/cpp]

[cpp]parallel_for(blocked_range(0,CANTIDAD,1),ApplyPhys(*oM),auto_partitioner());[/cpp]

Anyway I'm getting worse performance on using parallel_for that when using a serial approach.

What could I do to increase performance?
0 Kudos
24 Replies
dreamthtr
Beginner
Actually I can see an improvement of 2X by using:

task_scheduler_init init (2);

and

task_scheduler_init init (1);

So why is it that there is so much overhead when using parallel_for than when using a simple nested for.

Quoting - dreamthtr
Hi I'm new to Intel TBB and am trying to get more performance out of my app.