Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Newbie question - why does TBB have a dll?

saaron
Beginner
Hi,
I am new with TBB and this seems like a stupid question. Why does TBB have a dll file when it is supposed to be a template library?
thanks.
0 Kudos
4 Replies
RafSchietekat
Valued Contributor III

TBB provides some of its functionality in the form of templates, but it is not just a template library. It is specifically a dynamically linked library to allow its applications to be brought together into one program without explicit coordination.

0 Kudos
saaron
Beginner
Quoting - Raf Schietekat

TBB provides some of its functionality in the form of templates, but it is not just a template library. It is specifically a dynamically linked library to allow its applications to be brought together into one program without explicit coordination.

Thanks Raf. Can you (or anyone else) please guide me where can I learn more about the inner details (all the platform specificities) of TBB?

0 Kudos
robert-reed
Valued Contributor II
Quoting - saaron
Thanks Raf. Can you (or anyone else) please guide me where can I learn more about the inner details (all the platform specificities) of TBB?

Well, you have access to the ultimate authority. Intel Threading Building Blocks is an open source project and you can find details as deep as you want to go by looking at it. Code reading is a great exercise for learning structure, and as someone who supports this library, I'm constantly visiting newer versions of the source as they appear to understand how that code is evolving and structurally changing as new features appear.