Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.
2464 Discussions

Not achieving expected performance when using parallel_for

ijfk
Beginner
I'm new to TBB, and I'm currently evaluating the latest version of the library on VS 2008. I'm fairly certain that I'm compiling using the Microsoft's compiler, but I'm not 100% sure. I'm also not sure how to change it, and whether is desired to use the intel compiler when using the TBB (significantly better performance?). I'm doing all testing in release mode.

I'd like to use the TBB with a network server, and I'm currently just experimenting with the toolkit to see if it meets my needs, if I can comprehend it, and to see whether it does make my life easier.

One of the first things I wanted to try, is to run a for loop which creates SHA 256 checksum of every file in the C:\\Windows\\System32 directory.

I have a function that returns me a vector of all file names of a directory, which is then passed on to the ParallelGenerateChecksum() function, which in turn runs parallel_for().

I'm comparing the run time of a serial for loop as well as with the parallel for loop, and see only modest speed improvements on an intel i7 quad core workstation.

When generating the checksums, a serial process takes about 10 seconds, whereas the parallel process takes about 6 seconds on average. While this is obviously a good improvement, I was expecting to see at least half the time of the manual for loop. After all, I have 4 cores. I can also see that multiple cores are being utilized while the parallel_for runs. I wouldn't expect this to run more than 3 seconds.

I'm also reading the O'Reilly book on TBB, and using that as a reference and for examples.

As far as the code is concerned:

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

class ApplyFoo
{
std::string* const my_a;

public: