Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.
2466 Discussions

Pipeline/Tasks Internal State similarity to ACE

Derek_Baikie
Beginner
hi I am new to TBB; but a little familiar with ACE (Stream/Tasks).

With ACE I have developed ACE_Streams (seems equivalent to Tbb Pipeline).In ACE, ACE_Tasks are not spawned, but reused.As such, the Tasks are able maintain internal private state (eg a running total).

My question is does Tbb support filters within a pipeline which are not spawned and as such can maintain internal state - if so if there an example? If not, is there a best practiseapproach to dealing with such issues?

If not
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Anton_Pegushin
New Contributor II
Quoting - Derek Baikie

With ACE I have developed ACE_Streams (seems equivalent to Tbb Pipeline).In ACE, ACE_Tasks are not spawned, but reused.As such, the Tasks are able maintain internal private state (eg a running total).

My question is does Tbb support filters within a pipeline which are not spawned and as such can maintain internal state - if so if there an example? If not, is there a best practiseapproach to dealing with such issues?

If not
Hi, in TBB filters are not spawned, for each stage in a pipeline one filter exists and if the filter is "parallel", then it's operator() (void*) can be called concurrently for different tokens. If the filter is "serial", then it's operator() can be called only serially (possibly from different threads though). So if I understand your problem correctly, all you need to do is guard the filters "state" access from operator() of parallel filters.
0 Kudos
robert-reed
Valued Contributor II