Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Possible Reasons for bad performance

richwin
Beginner
Hi all,

I am pretty new to TBB. I am trying to parallelize more or less existing code, which is well object-oriented. However, with more than one thread, performance degrades by a factor of five compared to the standard serial code and also compared to the parallelized code with one thread.

Is there a document out there - or can anybody help - to explain what the reasons can be for such problems?

There is no data shared. The code just reads (non-changing) data, computes something and collects the results in a concurrent_vector. The data read is copied for each thread by copy constructors.

Any further ideas?
Thanks,
Matthias
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Dmitry_Vyukov
Valued Contributor I
Quoting - richwin
Hi all,

I am pretty new to TBB. I am trying to parallelize more or less existing code, which is well object-oriented. However, with more than one thread, performance degrades by a factor of five compared to the standard serial code and also compared to the parallelized code with one thread.

Is there a document out there - or can anybody help - to explain what the reasons can be for such problems?

There is no data shared. The code just reads (non-changing) data, computes something and collects the results in a concurrent_vector. The data read is copied for each thread by copy constructors.

Any further ideas?

Addition to concurrent_vector can perfectly be a bottleneck, it's inherently serial operation, it won't scale. Check how many local operations (machine instructions or primitive C/C++ statements) you have per single concurrent_vector modification. It must be not less than 10'000 or so.

0 Kudos
richwin
Beginner
Quoting - Dmitriy Vyukov