Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

PowerPC

tcmichals
Beginner
When should PowerPC port be available?
0 Kudos
21 Replies
Michael_V_Intel
Employee
TBB has already been ported to the Power MAC G5 andthat port is available in the current distribution.
0 Kudos
AegisOfPaean
Beginner
I checked the latest sources (developer and stable), build/macos.inc only defines em64t and ia32. The test exporting arch appears insufficient. It only utilizes sysctl where I would expect a combination of sysctl and /usr/bin/arch, but I'm not an expert here.

Depsite the presence of include/tbb/machine/mac_ppc.h I cannot build on OSX PPC without modifying the makefiles.
0 Kudos
Michael_V_Intel
Employee

Yes you're right, the Makefiles need to be fixed.

As a work-around for now, you can confuse the build into doing the right thing by doing "make arch=em64t". Yes ..."em64t".

include/tbb/tbb_machine.h selects the appropriate file from tbb/machine based on symbols defined by gcc. So using arch=em64t for the build will get gcc to include the compiler flags,but tbb_machine.h will still correctly include the mac_ppc.h file because the __POWERPC__ symbol will be defined implicitly by gcc.

And of course we'll fix the Makefiles, so you won't have to keep doing this...

0 Kudos
tcmichals
Beginner
Would this work for a PowerPC 440?
0 Kudos
Michael_V_Intel
Employee

Nope, it won't work for PowerPC 440. We build / test on a Power Mac G5, and our current portassumes 64-bits. I'lllook into doing a 32-bit port as well though.

0 Kudos
Kevin_Farnham
Beginner
Has there been any progress on the port to 32-bit Power PCs?
0 Kudos
tricaric
Beginner