Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Question on Concurrent_queue

sumanth_reddy_b_
Beginner

Hi,

I am new to Intel TBB. I am using concurrent_queue in order to achieve fine-grained parallelism in my project. I got few doubts. This is how i am implementing.

thread_fun(arguments) {

while(concurrent_queue.try_pop(v))

operation on v;  //each thread executes its own operation(seperate v for each thread)

}

main() {

fill the concurrent_queue;

create win32 threads and pass concurrent_queue as an argument; //using _beginthreadex

}

1. I am explicitly mentioning the number of threads. I read that TBB will create threads based on the processor core count. How can i achieve that? So that i don't need to create threads explicitly with _beginthreadex function?

2. Am i achieving fine-grained parallelism by using the concurrent_queue?

3. What do you mean by task level parallelism? How do you achieve task level parallelism with intel tbb? I am popping element from the queue. Does pop operation considered as a task? That means, all pop operations are considered as different tasks. I am popping 8 elements at a time with 8 threads. That means, i am achieving task level parallelism. Am i correct?

4. If i increase the number of threads to 32 on a quad-core processor(support 8 threads), how does the concurrent_queue work? Does only 8 threads concurrently executed on the queue or total 32 threads are executed concurrently?

I changed my code to use parallel_for as per the comment by robert-reed:

void parallel_relax( Map *m, std::vector<Vertex *> verList ) {
          tbb::parallel_for (blocked_range<int>(0, verList.size()), [=](const blocked_range<Vertex *>& r) {
                    for(Vertex *vit = r.begin(); vit != r.end(); ++vit) {
                             Vertex *v = vit;
                             m->operation(v);
                    }