Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.
2464 Discussions

RFC: pipeline vs. scheduler+tasks for streaming

janwassenberg
Beginner
Hello,

having hand-rolled the parallelization of previous HPC kernels (which did have the advantage of NUMA- and shared-cache-aware partitioning), I am faced with a more complex task and figure TBB is preferable to reinventing more wheels.

Since I am not experienced with the API beyond the tutorial and patterns cookbook, some advice to prevent walking too far down the wrong path would be appreciated.
In short: would you prefer the low-level task route for the following application (despite lots of apparent gotchas and details), or is there a simple way to cleanly express it with the higher-level parallel_do or pipeline APIs?

The application consists of a consumer in a separate, third-party DLL that continually asks for 100..500 KB packets (fixed-size, but I can influence it) out of a total of several GB. Those requests go to my IO thread that issues asynchronous reads for corresponding blocks in a file (whose format I control). When IOs have completed, I want to farm out LZOP decompression to one or several (which implies packets are stored on disk as several independent compressed streams) worker threads.
The consumer will probably request multiple, equally important packets at once, but the latency between requesting and receiving decompressed packets is important, so the number of streams/workers per packet needs to be tunable. The worst-case latency caused by always assigning worker N to stream N of each packet should be avoided, since the consumer can derive some benefit from timely delivery of the first fully-decoded packet.