Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.
2465 Discussions

Remove dependency from MS C++ runtime lib MSVCR80.dll

Blindleistung
Beginner
Hi all.

I am rather new to this but have successfully built a little app using TBB on Windows x64. It works fine on the dev machine.

Now the tbb.dll uses the C++ runtime dlls of microsoft which are called msvc*80.dll and reside in C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\... (called "Side-by-Side Assemblies")

The problem I have with that is that these DLLs refuse to load if I copy them into my app-dir. They need to be installed. And they seem to make problems for many people (lots of hits on google :-).

I would like to keep this program in a way that it runs on any PC without installation. Just unpack and run. I have found that there are already topics in the forum discussing this.

Alexey's hint to copy the 'Microsoft.VC80.CRT' folder from the redist folder to my exe's target folder also did not help. The libs won't load and windows does not tell me why.

But I don't want to know how to get the libs loaded or installed, but how can I get rid of this dependency alltogether? My attempts to build tbb into a static library failed (It compiled, but crashed when in use.)

Is there a pre-compiled static lib? Is there another way to avoid these M$-dlls?

Thanks for your help, guys!

Achim.
0 Kudos
20 Replies
pvonkaenel
New Contributor III
Quoting - Blindleistung
Hi all.

I am rather new to this but have successfully built a little app using TBB on Windows x64. It works fine on the dev machine.

Now the tbb.dll uses the C++ runtime dlls of microsoft which are called msvc*80.dll and reside in C:WINDOWSWinSxS... (called "Side-by-Side Assemblies")

The problem I have with that is that these DLLs refuse to load if I copy them into my app-dir. They need to be installed. And they seem to make problems for many people (lots of hits on google :-).