Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Situation Analysis-Should I use TBB?

jobin007007
Beginner
Imagine a class as describe as below.

Data{
Function1();
Function2();
};

Data S[12];

main()
{
for(int i=0;i<12;i++)
{
s.Function1();
s.Function2();
}
}

I am currently implementing main() as show below-

main()
{
for(int i=0;i<12;i++)
{
Thread(s.Function1());
Thread(s.Function2());
}
}

Imagine that Function1 and Function2 are really resource intensive and involve a lot of computations and are completely independent of each other. I already divided my program into 12 or 24 different components by calling each object function call as a new thread. I am using a 8 Core processor. So since the threads are divided into 12 or 24 already, would there be any advantage in using TBB?

Please advice. I am not an expert on threads and would like to know your views, comments.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
robert_jay_gould
Beginner
Quoting - jobin007007
Imagine a class as describe as below.

Data{
Function1();
Function2();
};

Data S[12];

main()
{
for(int i=0;i<12;i++)
{
s.Function1();
s.Function2();
}
}

I am currently implementing main() as show below-

main()
{
for(int i=0;i<12;i++)
{
Thread(s.Function1());
Thread(s.Function2());
}
}

Imagine that Function1 and Function2 are really resource intensive and involve a lot of computations and are completely independent of each other. I already divided my program into 12 or 24 different components by calling each object function call as a new thread. I am using a 8 Core processor. So since the threads are divided into 12 or 24 already, would there be any advantage in using TBB?

Please advice. I am not an expert on threads and would like to know your views, comments.

do Functions 1&2 do any IO operations (read disks, network, database, etc...)?