Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Slowdown when parallelizing QuickHull algorithm

Kevin_M_7
Beginner

Greetings all,

I'm new here and got redirected to here by a stackoverflow user.

I'm a beginner when it comes down to shared-memory programming.

I'm implementing a parallel version of the QuickHull algorithm (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/QuickHull) to find the convex hull of a set of data points. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Convex_hull). And I wanted to get an implementation by both using OpenMP and TBB, to get familiarized with both of them.

Basically the following tasks can be done in parallel:

1. Find the leftmost and rightmost point (P and Q).
  2. Split up the entire dataset according to the line connection these two points (P and Q).
  3. For each of these two sets, get the point that is the furthest from the line on which the last split occurred (PQ).
  4. Split the data into two sets based on the furthest point (C): One containing all elements right of the line PC and one containing all elements right of the line QC.

Note that part 3 and 4 are done recursively until every subset is empty.

First I've done this with OpenMP using mostly the #pragma omp parallel for an I get a nice speedup. Secondly, I've made an implementation using Intel TBB. This implementation resulted in a negative speedup (even for large data sets). I used both tbb::parallel_for() and tbb::parallel_reduce().

Here is the link the source code: http://pastebin.com/fggJd3zP

I'll start by adding some benchmark results. Note that I left out the runtime results for 100 - 10,000 points as it is quite trivial that no speedup is gained with these.

Just to be able to situate my problem a small comparision : Running the algorithm using OpenMP I got a 3x speedup with 4-8 threads. OpenMP did not gave a positive speedup with < 10,000 elements.