Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Stealing work from a sleeping thread

Jonathan_J_
Beginner

I'm fairly new to TBB, although I have done some stuff with the basic parallel_ constructs (parallel_for, parallel_do, etc).  I know TBB operates on a "task-stealing" concept.  I have a list of tasks that I want to be done in parallel, but they must be synced with real-time at certain time frame intervals.  For example, if i have 20 tasks, and the time frame interval is 20 ms, each task will perform its work that needs to be done for the next 20 ms of the system, then go to sleep.  So if i have 12 threads (6 cores plus hyperthreading), i would like the first 12 tasks to fire off, then go to sleep when done, then when they have gone to sleep, for the other 8 tasks to jump in and steal those threads and do their work.  I was hoping the code below would do the trick, but found that the last 8 tasks would not start until the first 12 tasks were done sleeping.  How can i make this work using TBB's task-stealing?

[cpp]

#include "tbb/parallel_for.h"

using namespace tbb;

void doWork(int threadId) {
     for(int i = 0; i < 10; i++) {
          std::cout << "Did work #" << i << " on thread id: "<< threadId << std::endl;
     }
}

class ParallelThreads {
public:
void operator()(const blocked_range<size_t>& r) const {
     for(size_t i = r.begin(); i != r.end(); ++i) {
          doWork(i);
          sleep(10);
          std::cout << "finished work on thread " << i << std::endl;
     }
}
ParallelThreads()
{}
};

int main() {
     tbb::parallel_for(tbb::blocked_range<size_t>(0, 20), ParallelThreads());
     return 0;
}

[/cpp]

0 Kudos
10 Replies
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

When you place a Sleep(n) in a task, the thread sleeps and is unusable for other purposes (other tasks). Refrain from using Sleep in tasks. Instead, simply end the task.