Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

TBB Memory Allocator

Shankar1
Beginner
I was looking into the memory allocators provided by TBB and I find that for
allocating a memory greater than 8K size, TBB uses malloc to allocate memory rather than
virtual alloc.I also find a preprocessor being defined by which i can change the allocation to be done by virtualalloc.But I find that the performance is way better by using malloc rather than virtualalloc.

Im totally new to memory allocation techniques and im just curious to know as to why TBB uses malloc to allocate such large sizes and as to why the performance is better this way.And also would want to know the cases where virtualalloc has to be the choice over malloc and vice versa (i.e,pros and cons of malloc over virtualalloc).
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Alexey-Kukanov
Employee

VirtualAlloc is thesystem call that maps physical memory to the address space of the requesting process. As a system call, it is slow; and it should never be used directly in applications. An application should use memory allocation routines instead. Of those, malloc is the most known. It's the C runtime call that returns the address to a memory block of requested size. Internally, it refers to VirtualAlloc (or other system calls, e.g. mmap or sbrk, depending on the operating system); but it does it smartly, requesting memory from OS in big portions, and managing smaller memory blocks for application requests in internal structure called a heap. C++ memory allocation via new and delete operators usually refers to malloc.