Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

TBB on HP-UX (and Solaris)

johnpenney
Beginner

Hi - I'm new to TBB though I've done an amount of reading on it and have got the O'Reilly book on TBB so I think I "get it" in principle!

We build our (threaded) application on 3 platforms - Windows (VC++7), Solaris 2.10 (OneStudio8 C++ v5.5) and HP-UX 11.23 (PA-Risc & Itanium, HP aC++).

Other threads in this forum suggest Solaris support is present, though I can't see it stated formally anywhere.

But there's no suggestion that HP-UX is supported.

We might be interested in attempting an HP-UX port, but would need some understanding of the effort involved beforehand. I'm interested in hearing from those involved in the Solaris port for example... how much effort did it take to get it working I wonder?

Thanks,

John

0 Kudos
4 Replies
RafSchietekat
Valued Contributor III
The most recent development release (tbb20_20080402oss_src) will build on Solaris (I tried SXDE 1/08 on a virtual x86 machine) using g++ (requiring a manual change to build/SunOS.inc), but CC fails (support for GNU inline assembler syntax is bleeding edge and there are no files with CC's own syntax), and I don't see any SPARC files either. This level of porting can be done in a day or so (I did it too, but too late to be useful); if you know your inline assembler syntax, a few days might be all you need.

0 Kudos
johnpenney
Beginner

Thanks Raf. Your reply made me realise I need to dig a bit deeper so I know the right questions. I "get it" only from the point of view of a theoretical TBB user. I suspect there's rather more to learn in order to port TBB.... :-)