Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.
2464 Discussions

TBB program taking almost same time as serial code

hoodibaba
Beginner
Hello All,

I I am very new to TBB. I start using the TBB for optimising my code performance. I am using parallel_reduce as I have to cumalative sum.

My problem is that the distance function takes almost same time when I do the parallel cumalative sum. its takes aroud 0.04 seconds to compute it. I guess with the TBB, its should reduce the processing time.

My serial code is like this:

float Matcher::Distance( float *out1, float *out2, int size ) {

float cumulativeDistance = 0.0;

for ( int i=0; i < size; i++ ) {
cumulativeDistance += (out1-out2)*(out1-out2);
}
return cumulativeDistance;
}

My parallel code version is :

#define GRAIN 10000000
#include
#include
#include
#include
using namespace tbb;
class Distancesum{

private:
float * my_out_1;
float * my_out_2;
public:
float cumulativeDistance;
void operator()(const blocked_range&r) {
float *out_1 =my_out_1;
float *out_2 =my_out_2;
float sum=cumulativeDistance;
const int end= r.end();

for (int i=r.begin(); i!= end; i++ ) {
sum += (my_out_1-my_out_2)*(my_out_1-my_out_2);
}
cumulativeDistance=sum;
}

Distancesum( Distancesum& x,split):my_out_1(x.my_out_1),my_out_2(x.my_out_2),cumulativeDistance(0) {}
void join( const Distancesum& y) { cumulativeDistance=y.cumulativeDistance;}
Distancesum(float *out1, float*out2):
my_out_1(out1),my_out_2(out2),cumulativeDistance(0)
{}
};

float Matcher::Distance( float *out1, float *out2, int size ) {

Distancesum ds(out1,out2);
parallel_reduce(blocked_range(0,size,GRAIN),ds);
return ds.cumulativeDistance;
}

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Ths function Distance is called from some other functions many times.

Few conclusions I make from this code are as follows: