Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Task level mutexes and locks

bruno
Beginner
Hi,

I'm a TBB newbie, but am familiar with concurrent programming etc... I've looked over the docs and read a few threads in the forum, so I am aware that I'm not the first to ask questions about DAGs.

I'm looking to use TBB to evaluate a complex directed graph of operations. I've seen a few suggestions on how to do this (eg: the white/grey/black edge colouring) which look reasonable, but involve quite a bit of book keeping to implement. I was wondering if there is anything equivalent to a task level mutex/lock which would simplify the implementation, and if not, is it a reasonable feature request?

For my purposes, we have a graph of operations. How I see it is that a TTB task is generated for each node in our graph, computes whatever it needs to do and shoves the result back into the graph node. So if we have a simple graph, where node A depends on nodes B and C, this would be fairly straight forward. We recurse up backwards through the dependency chain from A, first generating task for A, which generates tasks for B and C and waits for them (or rather a continuation task does). Tasks B and C do what they need to do then task A runs. All happy and easy enough with TBB.

However if we have another node D, which both B and C depend on it gets complex. We have a diamond dependency, so B and C's tasks will attempt to generate a task for D. Boo, what do we do here? We could...
- compute D twice and waste a thread and associated resources,
- block one thread and wait for D to be computed and waste a thread,
- implement the edge colouring idea to traverse through D, which would be quite complex to implement the glue for.