Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

While loop

bez
Beginner
Hi
I'm new to TBB so this question might be trivial. Is there a possibility to parallize while loop that is working all the time?
Eg.
while(!finished)
{
if(item_exists)
{
//do something
}
//else do nothing

}
And we dont know how many items we will process, and what is next item or even if there is another item. In pthreads or OpenMP it's very easy to parallelize but here is a bit strange for me... Or maybe i don't understand it well enough.
Please help me :)
0 Kudos
13 Replies
RafSchietekat
Valued Contributor III

Please consult the documentation (Tutorial and Reference Manual), and look for parallel_while/parallel_do.

(Added) If you want to block waiting for new items, though, use tbb_thread instead if you have other work at the same time, because TBB will not differentiate betweendoing useful workand being blocked.

0 Kudos
Alexey-Kukanov
Employee
Quoting - Raf Schietekat

Please consult the documentation (Tutorial and Reference Manual), and look for parallel_while/parallel_do.

parallel_do is for finite loops, since it takes begin and end iterators - so it does not qualify for the case. parallel_while might suite better (though we declared it deprecated). pipeline is another alternative.
0 Kudos
bez
Beginner
Thank you for quick repaly :) I was using older version of TBB tutorial (with parallel_while) , so i didn't see parallel_do, but still i think it doens't fit my problem. Pipeline isn't good for me too, i'm going to create my own task, maybe it's gonna work the way i want it ^^
0 Kudos
RafSchietekat
Valued Contributor III