Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Why is TBB this Hard?

jobin007007
Beginner
I am a fairly seasoned programmer but not an expert. I find TBB to be very hard and trying to understand has been taking a lot of time. I am wondering if its worth using it because of its complexity. Some of the concepts are easier than other but overall it is hard to implement.
Tools like .NET etc make programming easier. TBB seem to be going in the opposite direction?
Do you may disagree. Any comments?
0 Kudos
9 Replies
robert_jay_gould
Beginner
Quoting - jobin007007
I am a fairly seasoned programmer but not an expert. I find TBB to be very hard and trying to understand has been taking a lot of time. I am wondering if its worth using it because of its complexity. Some of the concepts are easier than other but overall it is hard to implement.
Tools like .NET etc make programming easier. TBB seem to be going in the opposite direction?

I disagree, TBB's API is no harder than the STL or Boost libraries. It's about as trivial as Modern Templated C++ Generic Programming can be (however, I'll accept C++'s Generic Programming is not inherently trivial at all).

Unfortunately I think you are asking an apple to be an orange. If TBB was a compiler and runtime like CILK, then you could compare it with .NET, but its across-platformstandard C++ conforming library, with no precompilingor special runtimes, just like an STL or Boost library.

Now on a side note, I find cumbersome having to write my function objects outside of my call spots, but that's C++'s fault, same happens if you want a custom sort algorithm in STL. But the issue is fixed with Lambdas (if your compiler supports Lambda's, GCC will support it some day, maybe).

0 Kudos
Alexey-Kukanov
Employee
Quoting - jobin007007