Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

down ward pass of in binary tree

Walter_D_
Beginner

Hi, I'm new to tbb and like to implement the downward pass of a tree structure. Let's assume we have a binary tree of nodes

struct node { node*parent,*child; int n_all; };   std::vector<node> nodes;

such that node has children child[0] and child[1] if child!=0 and descendants child[0..n_all), all of which have node as ancestor. In a downward pass, a user-provided function f(node*) has to be called such that f(n) is called after f(n->parent). Nodes are ordered such that children come after their parents. Thus, a serial code just loops all nodes in a forward manner as in  "for(auto n:nodes) f(n);" In recursive parallelism, one would call f(n) followed by calls to f(n->child) and f(n->child+1), which can be executed in parallel. Eventually, splitting can be avoided by looping all descendants of a node in a forward manner.

How best to implement this using tbb?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Walter_D_
Beginner

I should add that I have seen the example/task/tree_sum, but would like to have a more automated way to decide on when to switch over to serial execution, ideally similarly to auto_partitioner for parallel range loops.

0 Kudos
RafSchietekat
Valued Contributor III

You can apply the Range concept (requirements listed in the Reference Manual) to trees, and get all the algorithms and partitioners for free.

0 Kudos
Walter_D_
Beginner

Raf, I cannot see how this should work. How can I guarantee that f(n->parent) is called before f(n) ? Please explain.

0 Kudos
RafSchietekat
Valued Contributor III

When you split a singleton Range, first execute the parent.

(BTW, please note that "eventually" in English has a different meaning than in other languages.)

0 Kudos
Walter_D_
Beginner