Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

for_each TBB-style

AJ13
New Contributor I
Hello all,

I have been using TBB quite a bit lately, and have written something that might be of use to others, or could be contributed to official TBB. This is a parallel version of the STL for_each template algorithm. This is my first attempt at a contribution to TBB, so I'd really appreciate feedback and help to polish it. I tried to stick with the TBB coding style as much as possible, although I think ApplyToIterator should be in namespace tbb::internal.

It has been suggested that I add a partitioner arugment with a default value of auto_partitioner.

Thanks for any feedback, here is the code.

/*
* This is a sample implementation of a parallel version of a for_each
* template.
*/

#ifndef __TBB_for_each_H
#define __TBB_for_each_H

#include "tbb/parallel_for.h"
#include "tbb/blocked_range.h"
#include "tbb/partitioner.h"

namespace tbb {

template
class ApplyToIterator {
public:
ApplyToIterator(Func& f) : _function(f) {
}

void operator()(const blocked_range& r) const {
InIter end = r.end();
for(InIter i = r.begin(); i != end; ++i) {
_function(*i);
}
}

private:
Func& _function;

};

template
Func for_each(InIter first, InIter last, Func f) {
parallel_for(blocked_range(first, last), ApplyToIterator(f), auto_partitioner());
return f;
}

}

#endif
0 Kudos
9 Replies
ARCH_R_Intel
Employee

The code looks right. I would call it tbb::parallel_for_each instead of tbb::for_each, because overloading on namespaces invites trouble, both because of argument dependent lookup and misunderstanding by casual readers.

Some optimizers, Intel's and likely others, will appreciate seeing a "#pragma ivdep" inside the loop. That tells the compiler that the iterations are independent.