Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

task queue fence

bmintz
Beginner
I am trying to interface intel tbb with a distributed parallel runtime library. I am trying to do the simplest thing, which is to bypass our current task queue and spawn all of the tasks using intel tbb. The task queues are similar, but I think we will see significant thread scaling performance with intel tbb. The problem is that our current task queue has support for a task queue fence, but I do not see the same support in intel tbb. Our task queue fence keeps the main thread from continuing with the main program, and allows it to perform computational tasks. I was wondering if there is a way to implement something like this with intel tbb. I am fairly new to intel tbb, so I will appreciate any advice.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
RafSchietekat
Valued Contributor III
If I understand the situation correctly, as a workaround you could make all those tasks children of a dummy root task and wait for the root task to finish (make sure you get the reference count right).
0 Kudos
bmintz
Beginner
I understand the concept, but I do not think that this will work for me. The distributed parallel runtime that I am trying to interface with works in the following way. Each compute node has a single message passing interface (MPI) process. Whithin this MPI process, there exists a main thread, pool of worker threads, and a communicator thread for inter-node communication. It was designed to provide a general task-based distributed parallel runtime to build high-level mathematical routines and programs. There is no way for me to know how many tasks will be created through the life of every code that utilizes our library.