Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

using queuing_mutex and queuing_rw_mutex

praveen_satishgmail_
I am a student..
can any one provide me with examples of queuing_mutex and queuing_rw_mutex in cpp. Can we make a lock wait untill it acquired using queuing_mutex in TBB.If possible provide me semaphore examples in TBB mutual exclusions..
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Bartlomiej
New Contributor I
can any one provide me with examples of queuing_mutex and queuing_rw_mutex in cpp.

I'm not sure if I understand you correctly.
The usage of queueing mutexes is identical to usage of other mutexes. Typically you use them, by creating scoped locks in critical sections:

typedef tbb::queueing_mutex Lock;
Lock lock;

{
lock_type::scoped_lock l (lock);
// perform operations in the critical section
}

When leaving the block, variable l will be destroyed and the mutex will be released in its destructor.
You can also call lock.acquire() and lock.release() methods directly, but what for?

The other question is: why use a queueing mutex at all? IMHO, as queueing mutexes have nice theoretical properties, they are rarely useful in practice as other types of mutexes are more efficient and (usually) suffice. It would be interesting to hear if other TBB users do use queueing locks. When and why do you find them necessary?

Can we make a lock wait untill it acquired using queuing_mutex in TBB.

Unless I don't understand you do mean, the answer is: yes, obviously, that's what all locks are for.

If possible provide me semaphore examples in TBB mutual exclusions.

Semaphores are not defined in TBB. You ca nsimply simulate them by an integer variable guarded by a lock, but it would not be very efficient. But that's probably not what you wanted, is it?
0 Kudos
praveen_satishgmail_
Quoting - Bartlomiej