Media (Intel® Video Processing Library, Intel Media SDK)
Access community support with transcoding, decoding, and encoding in applications using media tools like Intel® oneAPI Video Processing Library and Intel® Media SDK
Announcements
The Intel Media SDK project is no longer active. For continued support and access to new features, Intel Media SDK users are encouraged to read the transition guide on upgrading from Intel® Media SDK to Intel® Video Processing Library (VPL), and to move to VPL as soon as possible.
For more information, see the VPL website.

About AVC encoding DPB size problem

stanley_hsu
Beginner
Hi, I'm a developer for remote view by using Media SDK to compress. Now, I faced a problem that I can't control the DPB size by setting MaxDecFrameBuffering.
My test stream resolution is 320x160, and setting is below.
GOP flag: closed
GOP size:30
Distance between I frame/P frame: 4
Idr interval: 6
Platform : i5-2300

other is default
Setting MaxDecFrameBuffering or not is nothing different.

I found some rules for DPB size, it's determined by level_idc and resolution.
Does it mean when level_idc and resolution is decided and the DPB size is decided, too?
Or we still could set a DPB size we want?

Is anything wrong or forgot?

Thanks for any kindly help!!

Sincerely,
Stanely Hsu

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Nina_K_Intel
Employee
Hi Stanley,

The value of MaxDecFrameBuffering parameter should lie within the following range:

NumRefFrames <= MaxDecFrameBuffering <= Min(Floor(MaxDpbMbs / (PicWidthInMbs * FrameHeightInMbs)), 16)

Otherwise the value will be ignored.

Please also note that profile matters (quoting medaisdk_man.pdf):
If the H.264 profile is High 10 Intra, High 4:2:2 Intra or High 4:4:4 Intra, this parameter is ignored. In these cases, the H.264 specification requires that the parameter be zero.

Please check your experiment. If you still see issues let me know.

Best regards,
Nina
0 Kudos
stanley_hsu
Beginner
Hi Nina,

Thanks for your reply.