Media (Intel® Video Processing Library, Intel Media SDK)
Access community support with transcoding, decoding, and encoding in applications using media tools like Intel® oneAPI Video Processing Library and Intel® Media SDK
Announcements
The Intel Media SDK project is no longer active. For continued support and access to new features, Intel Media SDK users are encouraged to read the transition guide on upgrading from Intel® Media SDK to Intel® Video Processing Library (VPL), and to move to VPL as soon as possible.
For more information, see the VPL website.
3056 Discussions

Can I use my laptop (Dell Latitude e6520) to develop IM SDK?

luislealv
Beginner

Hi,
I am new to Intel Media SDK; I am K12 teacher attempting to create a live webcasting for school events. I am using the Encoder 4 Pro SP2. As per the MS Expression Encoder, it is possible to reduce latency by using QSV. However I do know if may computer is capable, or how to enable QSV.

Thanks for your help

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Petter_L_Intel
Employee
Hi,

MS Expression Encoder Pro 4 does have support for HW accelerated encode using Intel QSV. Also, the Dell machine you have does have QSV, just make sure you have the latest graphics driver installed on your machine to ensure functionality and best performance.

We have little insight into how Microsoft have implemented the Expression Encoder so we cannot comment on application performance or latency. I have to refer you to MS for that.

If your interest is in developing your own media application then Intel Media SDK may be of interest. If you download the SDK you will find lots of sample code that should help you get started. Keep in mind though, that Media SDK is not a complete solution, you will likely need to integrate with 3rd party mux/demuxers, UI components, network stream (if needed) etc.

Regards,
Petter
0 Kudos
Brijender_B_Intel