Media (Intel® Video Processing Library, Intel Media SDK)
Access community support with transcoding, decoding, and encoding in applications using media tools like Intel® oneAPI Video Processing Library and Intel® Media SDK
Announcements
The Intel Media SDK project is no longer active. For continued support and access to new features, Intel Media SDK users are encouraged to read the transition guide on upgrading from Intel® Media SDK to Intel® Video Processing Library (VPL), and to move to VPL as soon as possible.
For more information, see the VPL website.

Decoding streaming video

Adi_S_
Beginner
Hi, I'm just getting started with the Intel Media SDK. I have HTTP and UDP video streams. Does the SDK have a way of decoding and transcoding such streams? All the examples I've seen seem to work with bare stream files. If so, could someone please direct me to a sample and/or some reference function names? If not, then can anyone suggest an external framework/lib that can be used in cooperation with the SDK to provide such functionality. I need something that will work on both Windows and Linux. Thank you and warm regards, Adi
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Petter_L_Intel
Employee

Hi Adi,

Intel Media SDK does not have any support for processing network streams. The SDK focuses purely on elementary stream processing, so you will have to use other components to demux the network stream into elementary stream packets, which you can feed to Media SDK decode.

Take a look the the sample_decode sample (the low latency mode), which is part of the SDK for more details on how to perform decoding for this scenario.

Regarding framework for network stream processing. You can explore FFmpeg, it does provide some of the capabilities you ask for. An FFmpeg/Media SDK integration sample can be found as part of the Media SDK tutorial here: http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/intel-media-sdk-tutorial