Media (Intel® Video Processing Library, Intel Media SDK)
Access community support with transcoding, decoding, and encoding in applications using media tools like Intel® oneAPI Video Processing Library and Intel® Media SDK
Announcements
The Intel Media SDK project is no longer active. For continued support and access to new features, Intel Media SDK users are encouraged to read the transition guide on upgrading from Intel® Media SDK to Intel® Video Processing Library (VPL), and to move to VPL as soon as possible.
For more information, see the VPL website.

How do I process a h264 byte array stream

nchannon
Beginner
Hi I am new to the media sdk and I am looking to process encoded h264 byte array directly from a camera and return the decoded data as ayuv 420 byte array. is there any sample code that takes the h264 array directly from a buffered stream andnot from a file or can someone point me into the right direction on how to process the live h264 video stream array.
Thanks
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Petter_L_Intel
Employee
Hi channon,

We do not provide such sample as part of the SDK but implementing direct buffer interface instead of reading data from file for your specific case should not be difficult at all. mfxBitstream carries the data that is fed to the encoder. mfxBitstream represents the buffer input to encoder and it does not matter where the data originates (file, other buffer etc...). Just keep in mind to insert appropriate timestamps in mfxBitstream for each frame. The sample_decode sample provides a good base for this purpose.

Other developers on this forum may also be able to share some thier best practices on this subject.

Regards,
Petter
0 Kudos
nchannon
Beginner