Media (Intel® Video Processing Library, Intel Media SDK)
Access community support with transcoding, decoding, and encoding in applications using media tools like Intel® oneAPI Video Processing Library and Intel® Media SDK
Announcements
The Intel Media SDK project is no longer active. For continued support and access to new features, Intel Media SDK users are encouraged to read the transition guide on upgrading from Intel® Media SDK to Intel® Video Processing Library (VPL), and to move to VPL as soon as possible.
For more information, see the VPL website.

Need help setting up the mfxvideoparam for 422

Ted_G_
Beginner

I am just getting started using this SDK and have been able to get the sample_encode VC project to compile and convert a 4:2:0 file.

What I am trying to do is encode 4:2:2 frames output from a DeltaCast sdi board and encode them to a h.264 / mp4 file. So to start off I thought the best thing to try was to get the Init function to work without errors. After days and days of messing around and failing miserably I finally got the 4:2:0 working using: MFX_FOURCC_NV12 and MFX_CHROMAFORMAT_YUV420 and copying the exact parameters used by sample_encode. Then I tried to use:MFX_FOURCC_YV12 and MFX_CHROMAFORMAT_YUV422 and have now gone back to failing miserably. No matter what I do it comes back with MFX_ERR_INVALID_VIDEO_PARAM.

When I use MFX_FOURCC_NV12 and MFX_CHROMAFORMAT_YUV422 it comes back with MFX_WRN_INCOMPATIBLE_VIDEO_PARAM which from what I can gather the params may have fixed themselves but what got fixed?

I have been through the mediaSDK_man.pdf which by the way needs a proper index and has multiple incorrect pointers. The document has very little useful information on what parameter combinations are necessary for the different formats. The .h file is of little use in this matter as well.